top of page

San Souchi Beach and Barefoot Beach Cafe

San Souchi Beach is one of my favorite beaches that is located in Waikiki. You may think this beach is going to be crowded and packed because of the location, but it's actually not! I was searching online to find some beaches that is kind of isolated, but is close by to Honolulu and this was the first beach that popped up.

My boyfriend and I love this beach. This is the listing why we LOVE this beach:

- close to Waikiki beach

- isolated away from the crowd

- family friendly

- lifeguard on duty

- natural sand

- ocean walkway to the Aquarium and Waikiki beach (sunset picture walkway)

- close by to the Honolulu Zoo

- see wild sea lions and sea turtles

- no drop off shore

Right next to the beach there is Waikiki Natatorium War Memorial. The memorial is a 100 meter by 40 meter salt water public swimming pool, that is dedicated to "the men and women who served during the great war [World War I]. Although this may be grim for some, it doesn't look like a typical memorial. When I first saw this building I thought it was a government building for the navy or army. It wasn't until I got closer that I realized that it was a memorial.

By the end of the day we left the beach to go get dinner. We passed by this cafe place that was on the walkway that looked like that they were having a luau. With the grill going, musicians playing Hawaiian music, it was definitely something that caught our eye to check the place out. The Cafe consists of Hawaiian foods such as kalua (roast pork with salt) sandwich, poke (sushi) bowl, (garlic shrimp), and other local foods. The meal that I had was a Surf and Turf Special. I had the Sirloin Steak that comes with rice, mash potatoes, zucchini, salad, and mini corn. I thought the steak was pretty good. However, the meat was a bit chewier when trying to finish the plate. It was good seasoning though. The staff who work there are polite and friendly as well. They would ask you where you are from and get to know you, as well how the meal is. The smoothies there were really good too. Especially the acai smoothie, which is really refreshing after the beach. If you are something that is more on the light side of a smoothie I recommend the lava flow. For you can taste the strawberry and the freshness with the pineapple. The musicians and the outside grill is a special that appears every Saturday. Even one of the musicians would teach you how to dance hula along with you as the music plays. So I definitely recommend to those who want to go to a mini luau to come to this place to have a relaxing time to eat some local food while watching the sunset. It is a view that you need to experience!

By the end of the day, I felt like a tourist again with the relaxing vibe of a tanning and enjoying a really good meal with a show!

bottom of page